Just now I have way to many TR daggers on my gun show table. I am way far from an expert on daggers but know enough to stay away from anything that is the slightest bit suspect. I just loved the source being the vet who brought these back. But, I am a student of this stuff and really like to add to the knowledge base of the collecting community. I see a number of these out there with the additional markings that mine does not have of "Ch.A.W." and a number-letter combination on the reverse of the blade and an "H" on the spine. Just because of that mine is a bit unusual but perhaps of less interest. I suppose that someone could of just popped into the distributor and plunked down his RMs and walked out with mine. But the ones with the additional markings appear to be some sort of an "issue piece" for something or another.

On its face this dagger-bayonet or whatever is period and scarce with the additional markings added but without the markings added it would appear to be previously unknown. Is that the case? What does mine tell us about the others? I find it a little hard to believe that the "Ch.A.W." and the "H" were added after the blade was hardened. That would be real hard on the dies. But, seeing mine without the markings perhaps all the others were marked after hardening? Perhaps owners of the others could check out the markings on theirs and contrast and compare the markings to see if they are different in impact on the blade? Perhaps lighter-more shallow or upwelled less or otherwise different from the distributors marking? If so, perhaps the additional markings are post production at the issuer or user level?