Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
The inscription on the blade reads: "Brigadef�hrer Gutenberger in Kameradschaft gewidmet - Die SA F�hrer der Brigade 73". The blade appears to be damast and all the fittings bear some adornment.

Any thoughts from the experts on this piece would be very interesting

Pics from Weitze.net

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Personally I would like some flowers and birds in the engravings Roll Eyes.

wotan, gd.c-b#105

"Never look for sqare eggs" as a late owner of an original FHH-dagger used to say.
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
authentic or not, and why (lots of detailed why please) Wink

P
P
I personnally don't like it.
I'm no expert on damascus, very few of us really are, but I find the crafmanship on these fittings horrible.
I just can't believe that such a dagger was made by the very talented craftmen of Solingen..........no way.
The blade is obvioulsy "artificial" damascus and once again, without being an expert, one can only appreciate the poor design of the damas.
This to me, can in no way be an original period artificial damascus blade.
The repros that I have seen so far from India, are even better made.
Just my thought ! Roll Eyes

Gustavo, since this dagger comes from a well known dealer, I would also think that not too many so called "experts" will give their opinions. Razz
Since I'm no expert, I have nothing to be worried about. Big Grin
But seriously, look at those fittings.............they're damned ugly.

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A