Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#356309 11/02/2022 08:03 AM
C
OP Offline
C
Hi. Newbie here. I just discovered this site because a long time friend just gave me this knife to figure out it's value. I know nothing, and already I have discovered there are vast differences in suspected value, and MANY fakes and counterfeits. I wasn't around when her grandfather was issued this knife, but, she IS German, her father IS German, and her grandfather immigrated here after the war, and didn't like to talk about it much, which seems to me to be legit. Most vets I know wo saw combat don't. Most vets of foreign wars who fought on the other side REALLY don't. ESPECIALLY THAT side. She said that HE said that he had to enlist to survive. That it was a very hostile environment for men of fighting age NOT to enlist for the Fatherland, Could be true or could be an excuse to "please don't hate me and persecute me for the horrific things I did when I was young". I've heard that one before from another friend's dad who was Ukraine I think, living in Poland, and was a Waffen SS. "Had to join after they invaded Poland to survive, yet he secretly says they made him/them do horrific crap he did with what seems like little to no remorse. Again, I know little to NOTHING. I can't judge.Instinct is to survive, no matter WHAT. He ended up a door to door salesman in the US. What can I say? Better than the people who's lives he helped destroy. I digress.