Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
F
OP Offline
F
Hello Guys,

I'm looking to buy my first dagger. I really like the look of the 1st Edition Luftwaffe dagger and I'm about purchasing a DLV / LUFTWAFFE TRANSITIONAL MODEL DAGGER BY PUMA.

I'm a complete newbie to this and have done what limited research I can. It seems like a sensible step to ask a few questions here first before going ahead with any purchase.

The description for the dagger reads as -

"This is the rare pattern dagger that is similar to a 1st pattern Luftwaffe dagger but has a soft leather scabbard with metal fittings held in place by large staples in the style of the DLV dagger. All early nickel silver hilt fittings are in excellent condition.The blue leather grip is in perfect condition. The mint blade is by Puma Solingen and features there cats head trade mark, the blade is also stamped with an official acceptance stamp. The scabbard is the rare type with a solid leather scabbard shell which is seen only on very early daggers, latter examples will have a leather covered metal scabbard, the metal scabbard fittings are held in place by large metal staples and again this is only seen on very early daggers.The dagger is complete with chain hanger, the lower chain fittings are the special metal S clip type which attaches on to the scabbard fittings, these S clips are only seen on very early daggers and are also the type seen on the very rare DLV 55cm flyer's dagger. A very difficult dagger model to find especially in nice condition. [Condition: Exc++]"

Please see the photos below -

[Linked Image from i.ibb.co]

My first question is, what is the stamp below the makers stamp? Is it a Waffen amt stamp? Just an early version?