Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
JDD Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi All,
I just signed up, it maybe a little rude to fire off questions immediatly, ifso forgive me.
I have my eye on a Deutschen J�gerschaft Hirschf�nger but I am a novice and I want to be carefull.
I try to do my homework, I buy a lot of books and I read the guide by mr Houston very nice, thank you.
The knife I am asking advice about looks good to me exept for 2 things that I don`t know about.

1: The Maker doesnt look familiar to me.

2: The pommel nut. I understood that very long ones are a red flag, is this such a long pommel nut?

I would very much like to know if this is a pre 1945 made knife that is factory assembled.

Thank you, Regards,
Dan

1 (Medium).jpg (118.6 KB, 329 downloads)
2 (Medium).JPG (81.55 KB, 322 downloads)
3 (Medium).JPG (67.48 KB, 320 downloads)
4 (Medium).JPG (83.16 KB, 322 downloads)
5 (Medium).JPG (78.97 KB, 321 downloads)
JDD Offline OP
OP Offline
And the last one...

6(Medium).jpg (84.6 KB, 319 downloads)
JDD, first let me welcome you to the forum.
I am NOT "THE" expert concerning DJ daggers, but to start opinions I do a try.
The portepee is improper, it would either be for a alk-out-bayonet froff staff formation or German Rifle Assotiation, both did use the same.
The DJ grip badge seems to be an original, period one but denazified.
Generally stamped mms are a good sign (for sure you have already seen this in Houston�s valuable guide). This one seems to be stamped. But as you, I have never seen it before.
The etching seems deep which normally is a good sign, but for me it lacks certain features I do know from doubtless period DJ etchings.