Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
S
spacey Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I just bought a Kar98 bayonet, there is some dispute on the value/description of it between the seller and a different website where I posted pics. Can anyone help? I'm not trying to dispute the seller's claims; just need some new eyes to give some opinions since I am not experienced myself in this. The last photo shows what is supposed to be a "waffenampt" but my eyes see no eagle or numbers under it, the camera shows all the detail that there is. Thanks in advance.

Ok, I'll post the seller's description 1st, and then the responses from the self-proclaimed "experts", and then photos I took myself.

Seller description ---- "WWII German K98 combat Bayonet, scarce 1944 (Navy Artillery issue). Black Bayonet with matching numbers. It is Nazi waffen-ampt marked on handle pommel" $225.00

Website response to photos ---- First off, the 44 is for 1944. The "crs" is a code for the maker...in this case PAUL WEYERSBERG. The Sheath should have markings up by the throat which should be matching to the markings & date on the blade however, you said it was black painted which is NOT CORRECT, it should be blued, not painted, of course it could have been painted after the war (but not a good sign and would hurt it value big time! $150.00 or more would be a reasonable retail price.

2nd response - - - Your bayonet certainly has been refinished.
As John G said, the original finish was blued metal. "Naval Artillery issue" not sure how the seller came to that conclusion. Scarce - not really IMHO. Now if it was a 45 then it would be!