Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
JohnZ Offline OP
OP Offline
Thank you, Paul and Pat.

I studied at the feet of two masters. Both of you have shown me what good pictures can do. And I think that I have learned from you.

And thank you all for looking and commenting.

John

Always looking for Eickhorns and etched bayonets.
Hello John,

Here are several photos of mine for comparison. Well, it is almost a "funeral" dagger. I guess my time isn't up yet since it still has about half of its paint. It keeps flaking off here and there though. Maybe one of these days, if I live long enough, I'll have a "funeral" dagger.

My dagger has the same darkened finish on all of the fittings just like yours. The ferrule is a little bit brighter than the rest but notice how the bottom edge has been ground down so that it perfectly meets the rounded top of the crossguard. It is nicely hand fitted here so it is definitely original to the dagger.

Also notice how the tang has been ground down to accept the grip. The inside of the grip hasn't been altered any at all. The grip only fits one way, it will not fit if I try to turn it to the other side. Also, the crossguard fits snug to the blade as well and cannot be removed. I've tried and it won't budge.

The grip on my dagger is also very "bulbous" compared to most other 2nd Luft grips. I've included a photo with this grip next to a grip on one of my 2nd Lufts by Carl Eickhorn. Notice how voluptous the Klaas grip is compared to the Eickhorn grip.

I think that covers most of the notable items about this dagger.

Here are the photos.

Thanks, Doug

JohnZ Offline OP
OP Offline
Paul and Doug:

Great daggers there.