Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline
As far as who is an "old collector" and who is a "new collector" I don't know where I fall. Honestly I don't think it matters much, some of the old collectors don't have a clue where some new collectors immediately have the "eye" for authenticity. Let's face it, in the 1970s and 80s you didn't have to worry about the 2000s fakes.

For me, I have been collecting since I was about 10 years old, the 1980s. I got burned severely and learned my lessons. Interesting to note that it was this "Older Collector" generation that ripped off this 10 year-old. I remember in the mid 90s, I asked myself why do I continue to collect. My conclusion is the same as most here regardless of our criticism, we love it. Although it's this passion that keeps it so frustrating.

My apologies
I understand Ken's anger, maybe especially with me, because I had "problems" with a helmet that he was selling. I responded to his e-stand ad asking for additional opinions. On another occasion he was showing his SS helmet that I thought was also not original. I said it wasn't original and still believe it isn't. In hindsight I think it was my mistake to publicly make a comment about a helmet that he was selling and criticize a helmet that he wasn't asking opinions on. I'm on record saying I apologize for making unsolicited comments about your helmets.

Respect for old collectors