Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#9260 04/17/2010 06:10 PM
V
OP Offline
V
Hello, I'm new to the fourm and hope someone can ID this dagger. I have searched the web and cant find a dagger blade made by Hackman & Co. I know they made some bayonets and the 2- fmous Vietnam knives as well as cutlery. I can only upload 1 picture at a time so I will describe it. It measures 15 inches end to end without scabbard. The double edged blade is 10 1/4 in. and handle is some type of plastic.The tang is stamped " HACKMAN & C0. over SORSAKOSKI. I found that that is a city in Finland where they had a plant. The brass pommel is engraved with a crown with a cross on top over script fancy J C Oover II and a star in the leaf border. I think it may be Russian or is it a fantasy dagger. Thanks viking-rune

#9261 04/17/2010 06:53 PM
Welcome to the Forum.

I think we need a photos or a scan.

Is that possible?

#9262 04/17/2010 07:10 PM
V
OP Offline
V
Thank you. I have to charge camera battery and will post pics in about an hour. I dont know how to set jpeg size on my new camera yet and the file is to large to upload.

#9263 04/17/2010 09:00 PM
V
OP Offline
V
I can't get pictures set low enought to upload. Any ideas?

#9264 04/17/2010 09:29 PM
Send the jpg file to [email protected] and I will resize it for you.

#9265 04/17/2010 09:33 PM
V
OP Offline
V
Trying again

#9266 04/17/2010 09:49 PM
V
OP Offline
V
more

#9267 04/18/2010 12:23 AM
V
OP Offline
V
Thank you Jim W. I will send them.

#9268 04/18/2010 12:52 AM
Here are the photos.

The Royal monogram is on the dagger pommel.

dagger_5_002.JPG (55.13 KB, 424 downloads)
#9269 04/18/2010 12:53 AM
The grip should be a type of ivory.
Photo 2

dagger_5_001.JPG (54.89 KB, 421 downloads)
#9270 04/18/2010 12:53 AM
photo3