Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#360247 01/09/2024 12:18 AM
C
OP Offline
C
I just got this Luftwaffe dagger as a gift from my next door neighbor, whose uncle was stationed in Europe during and after the war, and brought it back with a few other trophies. I'm still young and just getting started collecting militaria, so I'm pretty excited about this. So not only is this the first really nice item in my collection, It's also straight out of the woodwork. I really like the dark orange color of the grip, although it does wiggle a bit side to side. I've done some research, but I'm still learning and I was wondering if some of you could offer your thoughts about this dagger. Is Tiger a desirable maker to have? I've also been wondering about the hangers. All the fittings appear to be period, but I'm not sure about the grey leather tops on the hangers. I think they may be a wartime repair? I can take or add more pictures if that would help. I don't intend to sell this piece, but I am curious about how much it would be worth. Any insights would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

rsz_luft1.jpg (178.97 KB, 358 downloads)
rsz_luft2.jpg (195.25 KB, 356 downloads)
rsz_luft3.jpg (151.95 KB, 356 downloads)
rsz_luft4.jpg (145.83 KB, 356 downloads)
rsz_luft5.jpg (186.65 KB, 356 downloads)
Online Sleepy
We'll see if this works. It should link you to a similar picture of a hanger. Scroll down to post #351600
https://forum.germandaggers.com/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=351759&page=4

You might want to post closeups of your hanger.

--dj--Joe

<BR>
Hello Coyote_Kyle, first let me welcome you in theforum and to your first posting!