Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
M
MylesL Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hey guy, this knife if coming up for sale at a local auction and I've always been interested in obtaining a German knife or bayonet. Anyways, any help on this knife would be greatly appreciated. (Value, history, authentic etc.)

Here is what the auctioneer e-mailed to me after I inquired and pictures.

"SS and a E are stamped on the handle plus a few other letters stamped over each other. The blade is stamped with a D with three dots under it on one side and the other side has words that seem to be double stamped, the words or letters I could make out read Gott, Hamm & Solingen. Kane-M is on the snap of the sheath and sheath has oil inside. I'm not a expert in the field but the consigner said it was WWII. Hope this helps"

Thanks guys.

Welcome to the forums!! Smile From what I can see in the images (which is not much). It looks to me like one of those imported reproduction trench knives which should probably have a Heco en Rep�blica de la India (or Pakistan) label on it somewhere. That said. If possible some better images especially of the supposed "SS" markings, would be nice to see where it fits into the overall picture of faked "SS" items. FP

M
MylesL Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Thank you for the welcome and info Fred. I appreciate it. I did a little research about what he said about Gott, Hamm, and Solingen being stamped and discovered it probably says: "Gottlieb Hammesfahr Soligen" Which from what I've read so far is a legit stamp. Would a repro have that on it?

Here is a picture of the D with 3 dots he speaks of and a zoomed in photo of the SS. That's all the pic I have and the auction is tomorrow so I doubt he would send more in time. Cheers!