Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#276916 01/15/2013 02:22 AM
N
Noble Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Im really not happy, the photos I was provided did not show the amount of wear on the dagger. I purchased this from an auction house and I will be talking to them.

In addition I wanted to double check with you guys to see if there was anything you could point out that may be wrong with it.

The metal is very worn and does not look crisp at all.

I have no experience with these daggers, I am curious as a dress dagger, does it have an edge on the blade or should it(like my photos show) have a very thick unsharpened edge?

in addition, is the blade supposed to be off kilter in relation to the guard? they are not even horizontally, and neither is the felt pad, they are all on angles

Thanks for any help, Im starting to think this war stuff should be left for the guys who were around to see it or at least when this stuff was more commonly around....

Last edited by Noble; 01/15/2013 02:25 AM.
S
S
Noble
Pommel and cross guard were made by WKC. The grip is on backwards. Someone has taken it apart but that is not unusual. The fit of the blade should be tight and in the same plane as the grip and 90 degrees to the crossguard centerline as you pointed out. I would reassemble it turning the grip around and see if the parts fitting is improved. Careful with the delicate grip. Dont overtighten it. The blade does not look sharpened to me and looks like a typical unmarked plain blade. It just did not age well unfortunately.

Wanted: German Naval Edged Weapons and Related Accouterments
L
L
Well, it looks as though it probably is genuine but a very worn & badly cared for piece.