Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
W
OP Offline
W
This tunic is marked with the name and unit of it's original owner, and it came with a note stating it was purchased from the estate of the German soldier including his full name and rank (more on the smock in first picture later).
-Ray

Last edited by wwiifirearms.com; 12/22/2011 02:52 PM.
eagle and writing on tunic look bogus...cant say anything regarding the tunic and smock

W
OP Offline
W
Any specific details about eagle that would cause you to question it?
I am not an expert on these things, so I am interested in learning.
I did check the eagle and the stitching with a blacklight and they looked ok from that perspective.

I am not sure how one would conclude that the writing was "bogus", unless the person or unit never existed. It might be possible to say that it was applied after the war (for example ballpoint pens were generally available until after WWII, though i am not sure this was done in ballpoint) Since this is said to have come from the soldiers estate long after the war, anything is possible. I would be interested in how you reached your opinion.

-Ray

Last edited by wwiifirearms.com; 12/22/2011 05:24 PM.
S
S
The eagle is a replica. You can see a ghost where the original was sewn just above and to the left. Note photo.
The writing has been done with a felt tip pen rather than a nibbed pen of the period.
Could you post some close ups of the collar tabs please?
Steve

Dachau SS sleeve eagle.jpg (53.22 KB, 185 downloads)

"Insanity is heriditary. You get it from your kids." Quote from Ronald Regans diary.
W
OP Offline
W
Steve,