UBB.threads
Posted By: Hubertus FANCY PRESENTATION ETCHED BAYONET - 01/06/2006 03:18 AM
The crest on the grip has the initials TLR under a royal crown with silver wreath attached. I have no knowledge what it says on the blade. Houston can probably tell us about the knot and the dedication. All help is appreciated in deciphering information on this blade. I have tried to get some close ups of the knot as it is a very strong additon to the bayonet. The reverse has the stamped eickhorn trade mark.
Thank you for looking.
Sincerely,
HUBERTUS

Attached picture 1.5.1.jpg
Posted By: Hubertus Re: FANCY PRESENTATION ETCHED BAYONET - 01/06/2006 03:21 AM
Photograph #2

Attached picture 1.5.3.jpg
Posted By: Hubertus Re: FANCY PRESENTATION ETCHED BAYONET - 01/06/2006 03:22 AM
Photograph #3

Attached picture 1.5.4.jpg
Posted By: Hubertus Re: FANCY PRESENTATION ETCHED BAYONET - 01/06/2006 03:24 AM
Photograph #4

Attached picture 1.5.5.jpg
Posted By: Houston Coates Re: FANCY PRESENTATION ETCHED BAYONET - 01/06/2006 03:34 AM
The crest--LIR-indicates Bavarian Infantry Regiment. The logo in the square is a retailer or identification of the person or firm that donated the bayonet. It is for the best shooting in the 4th company, Infantry Regiment 61. There is another one known similiar to this. Very scarce bayonet. The knot is for a "mounted" NCO-and is also seen on swords.
Posted By: Degens Re: FANCY PRESENTATION ETCHED BAYONET - 01/06/2006 03:51 AM
Hubertus,
You certainly have a knack for producing some of the more exotic pieces shown on these here forums. This is another stunning bayonet and is certainly new to me, but somehow I knew Houston would shed some light Smile. Can you tell me if the grip emblem is surface mounted or pinned, its a bit hard to tell from the photographs. Not only scarce but in choice condition as well, thanks for sharing and for expanding my knowledge base.
Posted By: TKissinger Re: FANCY PRESENTATION ETCHED BAYONET - 01/06/2006 03:52 AM
Ralph