UBB.threads
Posted By: Howard Julian-Harvey 100%MINT CHAINED SS? - 10/29/2008 11:09 PM
I have several rather average examples of 1936 chained SS, and have on many occasions seen examples better than mine both on this forum and elsewhere, but I have never seen an example that is 100% stone mint! Do they exist in this condition? I have for example, seen many chained NSKK daggers in superb mint condition but never chained SS, why is this?
Posted By: zorro Re: 100%MINT CHAINED SS? - 10/30/2008 12:28 AM
Howard 20 years ago the first chained SS I bought was what I would call mint. I was a novice at the time and never did really like it because it had that RZM lack of quality. I wanted that early nickle fit and finish. This is a picture of the picture of it.They are out there.

Attached picture IMG_1654.JPG
Posted By: Skyline Drive Re: 100%MINT CHAINED SS? - 10/30/2008 01:32 AM
No such thing as 100% "stone mint" in my opinion. Here is my type II chained. Some may be in better condition but they are far and few between. I did have a beauty near mint type I but it now resides in an advanced collection in Europe.

Attached picture phptAhvznPM.jpg
Posted By: Howard Julian-Harvey Re: 100%MINT CHAINED SS? - 10/30/2008 09:01 AM
Thankyou for the reply's. But why are their so many mint NSKK chained and no pictured examples of mint SS chained daggers? It dosen't seem to make sense that this should be the case!....Many thanks.
Posted By: zorro Re: 100%MINT CHAINED SS? - 10/30/2008 12:53 PM
Howard There was never any early nickel NSKK so that eliminates thoses.They are rarer than a chained SS and were made latter on and into the war. They were probably the daggers sitting on the shelves of factorys when the vets picked them up.
Posted By: Ronald Weinand Re: 100%MINT CHAINED SS? - 10/30/2008 02:09 PM
Well, it could be that MANY of the mint NSKK Chained Daggers that you are looking at are, indeed, FAKES.
JMO,
Ron Weinand
Posted By: 777 Re: 100%MINT CHAINED SS? - 10/30/2008 07:18 PM