Very interesting debate which hopefully remains civil as we all learn from this thread. While I don't wish to make any comments as to the authenticity of the sword which appears to be a fine period piece by most accounts, my observations relate to the inscriptions in general.

I am by profession a graphic designer and started my field as a typographer and scribe (lettering artist), having studied under a German master scribe who actually served part of his apprenticeship at one of the blade producers during the War, I forget now which. He related to us some of the methods used on dedication blades and we as apprentices had to apply some of these old techniques ourselves to various contoured metal objects. There were typically several scribes employed by factories, each of which applied their own favoured techniques and styles. The dedication blades were highly contested by the scribes as not only was there a level of prestige, but it detracted from the daily mill of artwork and lettering, as such, great care was generally taken in lettering a named dedication. Back then this work was done with a flat pen and masking ink. The technique I was taught differs slightly to that explained by FredJS in that the scribe would carefully plot the dedication on paper to achieve the correct position, centering and also the required line breaks and border dimensions. From there a acid resistant "ink" was written directly onto the blade using a broad pen by the scribe in Gothic calligraphy. Corrections and deletions to his workmanship were common until the scribe was completely satisfied with his typography, layout and penmanship. As FredJS pointed out, the etching process was done by a different tradesman.