UBB.threads
Posted By: chance 1 New Collector - 06/12/2006 04:09 AM
i am new to this hobby, so my question is how do I know if what i am purchasing is real or fake ? Could you recommend any dealers ? i think i already know the answer to that question. But any advice would be greatly appreciated..........THANK YOU........
Posted By: Degens Re: New Collector - 06/12/2006 10:43 AM
Chance,
Welcome to the forum, my first piece of advice when starting out is too take your time, reproductions have been made of nearly all the different variations of daggers from the Third Reich. If its hunting daggers you are interested in download Houstons free guide > FREE GUIDE, which is a good start. Ask lots of questions and buy from a reputable dealer to guarantee authenticity ( most of the time ), but expect to pay that little bit extra. Many of the well known dealers use this forum and sell via its free for sale section or advertise via the banner at the top of the page. The main thing to remember is to buy the best quality you can afford.....you wont regret it in the long run Smile.
Regards
Posted By: Ju88 Re: New Collector - 06/12/2006 04:04 PM
Another thing, Chance, is that if posting pictures of prospective purchases is possible (say that 5 times fast), you will find that some of the professionals here will either compliment the item, or pick it apart for its flaws. Either way, these guys will guide you well.

And, welcome to GDC!
Posted By: Daggerob Re: New Collector - 06/12/2006 05:45 PM
Hi chance:
Welcome to the addiction. Smile

All of the above...and...

Paul Hogel's SA tutorial at http://www.lakesidetrader.com/sa.html will help you understand dagger terminology in general...and...

If you're too cheap to buy reference books, (like I was) Wink you can become familiar with the characteristics of edged weapons by viewing Wittmann's inventory descriptions at http://www.wwiidaggers.com/inventory.htm He has good photos, so you can see what you're reading about.