Translate German to English - Click here to open Altavista's Babel Fish Translator Click here to learn about all those symbols by people's names.

leftlogo.jpg (20709 bytes)

Upgrade to Premium Membership

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
B
OP Offline
B
Dienstlatersliste der Schutzstaffel der NSDAP
(Service List of the Protection Staff of the NSDAP)

Many Third Reich collectors are familiar with the existence of the Dienstalterslistes (SS Officer Service Lists) or "Dienstlistes" as they are sometimes called. But not many know what they are and what information they do and do not contain. I will endeavour to shed some light on this sometimes mysterious subject. I would just like to say that I am not an expert on the SS as I have but scratched the surface of this most complex organisation. And there are no doubt many readers who could add a wealth of information about the SS and the Dienstalterslistes to this article.

What are the Dienstalterslistes?

Simply put, the Dienstalterslistes contain the names of officers who were full time members of the SS to include the Allgemeine-SS (General SS), Sicherheitsdienst or SD (SS Security Service), SS-Verfügunstruppe
(Special Purpose Troops), SS-Totenkopfstandarte (Death's Head Regiments), SS-Totenkopfverbände
(Concentration Camp Staff) and, after the war started, the Waffen-SS (Armed SS). Although the German Police came under the control of the SS in 1936, a Police officer would not be listed unless he was also a full time member of the SS.

The first list was produced in October 1934 and contained the names of all 3,238 officers in the SS at that time from SS-Sturmführer (2nd Lieutenant - later renamed to SS-Untersturmführer) up to and including
Reichsführer-SS. The last one (to my knowledge) was produced in November 1944 and contained the names of officers from the ranks of SS-Standartenführer (Colonel) up to and including Reichsführer-SS.